Jisho

5203071cbab0611fdde41392b71888be
6 Replies ・ Started by Elrad at 2019-02-18 16:03:54 UTC ・ Last reply by Elrad at 2019-02-21 18:17:13 UTC

先生 or 教師 and "Custom officer" and kana writing

Hello everyone,

I'm Elrad, not new to this website because I use it a lot but new to these forums so, Glad to be among you today. I'm still a beginner in japanese so maybe the following questions will look a bit dummy.

I'm facing three small problems :

I] when introducing myself. In みんなの日本語, 第一課, it's written that when you speak about your own job, you never say "私 は 先生 です" but "私 は 教師 です".

My previous japanese teacher gave us that line of manuals to use but my current one does not use it and teaches us to say "私 は 先生 です". Is she wrong or can we say both expressions to speak about being an actual teacher (at school or at university) ?

II] Another question raised when I saw that in her sheets she calls a "custom officer" a "Zeikan-in" but everywhere I just find the expression : "税関吏 [ぜいかんり]"....Is she right or is there something wrong ?

III] Finally, That's just a simple question regarding the writing of two kanas : [さ] and [き]. When I read various texts, they can be written like this or detached. My current teacher tells us that writing those two kanas the way I've transcripted them here before is wrong and in case of an exam I could lose marks if I write it like this...But even on the website of the JPLT it's written like this here above.

Excuse me for the load of questions at once, and thank you in advance for any clarification you'll be able to provide, and also, English is not my mother language so if I'm not clear enough, tell me so I could rephrase my message.

Regards,

Elrad

6ee23c5fa55b37168c3f360dded0acaa
Leebo at 2019-02-18 16:22:03 UTC

I don't have time to answer all the questions, but